Musée d’Histoire Locale et de la Pêche dans l’Estuaire
Housed in the old school near the church, this museum, created in 1994, brings the history of Talmon to life with photographs, plans, models, highlighting the fishing activity, the main source of local wealth.
The museum's collections come from local enthusiasts and are highlighted by the Société des Amis de Talmont without which the museum would not exist.
This museum presents the history of the site: the "Closed City", built by the English in 1284, destroyed by the Spaniards in 1652, almost became an American port in 1917 then a marina in 1972!
Nostalgia, nostalgia. the classroom is reconstructed... class photos are displayed there, the history of the village can thus continue.
In the garden, a former playground, a Museum of fishing in the estuary completes the visit. We discover placed on the ground, the famous "yole", a traditional boat used to fish lean.
The fishing museum presents to the visitor the tools used for fishing on foot, with a net. More particularly, scenes from everyday life, in the form of dioramas, allow the activity to be visualized.
A recent film (which lasts 13 minutes) shows the two peninsulas in the four seasons and superb views from the sky.
Ranking & labels
- Family plus
|Opening hours from April 01 to September 30, 2023|
Free for less than 16 years.